Savannah Cat Chat - THE Place for Savannah Cat Talk

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Lazy Savannah Kitten

willowcrickett

Savannah Adult
Hi there, I'm new to the board, and a brand new Savannah owner. We've had our little F5 SBT girl for about a month and a half. She is 17 weeks old, and sleeps A LOT. Maybe it's because she's young and still growing, but I am very new to having a Savannah. All I've ever heard about them is their high energy levels, how they get into everything when they're bored and need constant play and attention. All I've seen so far is an adorable little kitten who sleeps so much that she makes our fat, lazy rescue cat look active by comparison. She does play, some, but nor for very long. The longest I've seen her up was about half an hour. She doesn't seem to like going outside very much. I suspect that's because we live near a major highway and the noise disturbs her. Perhaps she just needs to get used to it.

Is it normal for a Savannah kitten to sleep so much and play so little?

WitchyWoman

Admin
Staff member
Welcome to the board. Cats are most active in the morning and the evening with periodic bouts of activity throughout the day. If you think she's sleeping too much, and it sounds as though she might be, then a trip to the vet for a complete exam and blood panel would uncover any physical issues that may be going on. If she is healthy, growing at an appropriate rate, and has a lot of toys and interaction with family members, then boredom can be ruled out and all that sleeping is likely due to the incredible amount of growing she is doing.