Savannah Cat Chat - THE Place for Savannah Cat Talk

Welcome to the Savannah Cat Chat Forum! Our forum has been in existence since 2012 and is the only one of its kind. We were here, serving the savannah cat community before Facebook and Instagram! Register for a free account today to become a member! Please use an email program other than Hotmail, since Hotmail accounts are blacklisted by many servers and ISP's. Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site in some of the forums by adding your own topics and posts. But in order to take advantage of the full features, such as a private inbox as well as connect with other members ad access some of the larger topics, a donation of $2.99/mo or $25/yr is requested. This will allow us to continue running this forum!

modified live vaccines????

Question/background: It's my first time taking Alabaster (my F1, 15 month old male SV) in for his FVRCP vaccine and the vet says they use "modified live" vaccines for many of the shots they provide (I think Purevax was the name). They wont order killed virus shots b/c they would have to order an entire box. They *did* find a vet who would sell them one dose of a killed virus, but it is combined with feline leukemia, which is entirely unnecessary...So here's the question:

Should I opt for the single "modified live" shot for distemper...or go for the killed combo (w/ un-needed fel leuk)? Are modified live vaccines, in general, dangerous for savannahs? HELP!!!!!!

Question/background: It's my first time taking Alabaster (my F1, 15 month old male SV) in for his FVRCP vaccine and the vet says they use "modified live" vaccines for many of the shots they provide (I think Purevax was the name). They wont order killed virus shots b/c they would have to order an entire box. They *did* find a vet who would sell them one dose of a killed virus, but it is combined with feline leukemia, which is entirely unnecessary...So here's the question: