Savannah Cat Chat - THE Place for Savannah Cat Talk

Welcome to the Savannah Cat Chat Forum! Our forum has been in existence since 2012 and is the only one of its kind. We were here, serving the savannah cat community before Facebook and Instagram! Register for a free account today to become a member! Please use an email program other than Hotmail, since Hotmail accounts are blacklisted by many servers and ISP's. Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site in some of the forums by adding your own topics and posts. But in order to take advantage of the full features, such as a private inbox as well as connect with other members ad access some of the larger topics, a donation of $2.99/mo or $25/yr is requested. This will allow us to continue running this forum!

Scam Websites

Michelle B-H

Savannah Child
G'day everyone!
On my search for a Savannah Cat I came across a website. I'm not sure if it's a legit website. It seems pretty not to put together to me. Majority of the adds are for free kittens. I replied to a few of these adds. One Lady got back to me stating she has 2 kittens Mickie and Lucie, and sent pictures with her email. It seemed to be a well thoughtout out email. She stated she was giving the kittens away for free, and all i'd have to pay for was to fly them here.
I do have to say that in the add she stated she was from the Snowy Mountains here in NSW AUS. When she first replied to my enquiry she told me she had to move to Glasgow, Scotland. Without even mentioning a thing about the Snowy Mountains. She instantly, (without knowing where I live),told me the cost of a flight. I then started to become suspicious on the goings on of these emails I've been receiving when the original about of the flight dropped.
I replied back stating that I was looking for a kitten within Australia because of quarentine , and thanked her for her time. She then replied back stating all this paper work crap blah blah blah. The last time i replied back I sent an email stating that I've been doing some research and that Savannah Cats were banned from being imported into Australia back in 2008 (with no thanks to Peter Garret!) I've since then have heard nothing back from her.
I've dealt with a scammer once before. My father was involved with a Romance Scammer a few years back, so I knew one key thing to check, the IP address in the header. Yep, came back from Camaroon...BUSTED!
I'm sad that all this was bs, but i'm glad that i had the knowledge to check that IP address.
The website the add was on is http://au.catsadoptions.com/catclassifieds/search#kittens and here are a few of the pictures (just in case someone here owns the pictures)

Thank You for your time in reading my experience. I'm glad that I came across this site, and I'm sad that there are actual people out there that get caught up in these scams.
Best of luck to you all.
Michelle
 

Attachments

  • Lucie 4.jpg
    Lucie 4.jpg
    178.5 KB · Views: 27
  • Mickie 5.jpg
    Mickie 5.jpg
    237.7 KB · Views: 26

Trish Allearz

Moderator
Once upon a time, I had my Sphynx ads stolen and posted to an Australian pet site- it might even be the one you posted! The website wasn't too interested with taking the scam down- very sad.

I am very very glad you caught on that this lady (probably man) was trying to scam you. I feel so bad for people when they get excited- thinking they are finding the kitten of their dreams and then to find out- whether or not you lost money- that it was just another nasty scammer.
 

Michelle B-H

Savannah Child
Sadly enough i'm sure it has happened to a lot of people. I also think that i'm being scammed by a Cornish Rex scammer as well. The email is dodgy and the IP came back from the US when it should of been from Darwin.
It's sad they banned the import of these animals, but luckily they can still be sold here. Finder a legit breeder is like finding a needle in a hay stack. So if anyone has some ideas of breeders in Australia, I would be sooooooo grateful!
 

admin

Paige
Staff member
Sadly enough i'm sure it has happened to a lot of people. I also think that i'm being scammed by a Cornish Rex scammer as well. The email is dodgy and the IP came back from the US when it should of been from Darwin.
It's sad they banned the import of these animals, but luckily they can still be sold here. Finder a legit breeder is like finding a needle in a hay stack. So if anyone has some ideas of breeders in Australia, I would be sooooooo grateful!

Hi Michelle,

If you are looking or Savannahs, I guess you know they are illegal in Australia, although that may change one day. What kind of kittens re you looking for?
 

admin

Paige
Staff member
G'day everyone!
On my search for a Savannah Cat I came across a website. I'm not sure if it's a legit website. It seems pretty not to put together to me. Majority of the adds are for free kittens. I replied to a few of these adds. One Lady got back to me stating she has 2 kittens Mickie and Lucie, and sent pictures with her email. It seemed to be a well thoughtout out email. She stated she was giving the kittens away for free, and all i'd have to pay for was to fly them here.
I do have to say that in the add she stated she was from the Snowy Mountains here in NSW AUS. When she first replied to my enquiry she told me she had to move to Glasgow, Scotland. Without even mentioning a thing about the Snowy Mountains. She instantly, (without knowing where I live),told me the cost of a flight. I then started to become suspicious on the goings on of these emails I've been receiving when the original about of the flight dropped.
I replied back stating that I was looking for a kitten within Australia because of quarentine , and thanked her for her time. She then replied back stating all this paper work crap blah blah blah. The last time i replied back I sent an email stating that I've been doing some research and that Savannah Cats were banned from being imported into Australia back in 2008 (with no thanks to Peter Garret!) I've since then have heard nothing back from her.
I've dealt with a scammer once before. My father was involved with a Romance Scammer a few years back, so I knew one key thing to check, the IP address in the header. Yep, came back from Camaroon...BUSTED!
I'm sad that all this was bs, but i'm glad that i had the knowledge to check that IP address.
The website the add was on is http://au.catsadoptions.com/catclassifieds/search#kittens and here are a few of the pictures (just in case someone here owns the pictures)

Thank You for your time in reading my experience. I'm glad that I came across this site, and I'm sad that there are actual people out there that get caught up in these scams.
Best of luck to you all.
Michelle

I have seem Mickie and Lucie on another website...probably the same person who tried to scam Nicole...but soon there will be a way for buyers to know whether they are on a legit savannah breeder website...stay tuned...
 
Top